holidays in seoul

List of Public Holidays in South Korea

Most of the holidays in South Korea have fixed dates but some are as per the Lunar Calendar. Traditional Festivals in Korea as celebrated as per the Lunar Calendar where as other holidays are decided as per the Solar Calendar. In all there are around 10 public holidays in Korea. But because Seollal and Chuseok are the biggest holidays in Korea, some offices give their employees a 3 day off, thus totaling to around 14 holidays a year.

During official public holidays bank and offices are closed, but department stores, restaurants, museums, palaces and parks are open. Stores and businesses in Korea are typically open on weekends and on public holidays, but most of them are closed on holidays like Seollal and Chuseok.

Here goes the list of Public Holidays in South Korea:

1) New Year’s Day / Sinjeong – January 1 – (1 day off)

Syndicate content

Koreabridge - RSS Feeds 
Features @koreabridge     Blogs  @koreablogs
Jobs @koreabridgejobs  Classifieds @kb_classifieds

Koreabridge - Facebook Group